Tags

,

For 2015, I want to pick a verb as a form of action for my resolutions instead of a laundry list of how to improve myself or sweep out the ashes.  It’s so easy to just say you’re going to do something and to have it be perfectly expected to fail since “everyone else does” only to move on to the next year and do it all over again.

It will be an annual tradition, starting this year, so I chose “connect.”  It wasn’t solely because I’ll be joined with my BF in holy matrimony by the mid-point of the year.  I had to pick a word with a quality that didn’t automatically take a direct object, one that possibly only involved the subject.  There are no rules, per se, but to me it was important to ponder over it enough that it had to have multiple meanings and could not be passive.

Last year, I set up a playing field, with my career, that made it easier to move onward and upward in the second year.  A one-year plan started to feel too rushed and when you deal with other people’s schedules and the cycle of when job opportunities arrive it created panic.  What actions had to be done, right away, or what I needed to learn the most, so that way the second year of the plan, it was easier to wreck it in just the right away?  Not wreck my potential for a better-paying job, but destroy those expectations, methods, and illusions that were unhealthy.

And then it was obvious what created momentum came from new people, new relationships, new connections.  Old friends, far away in various cities across the country, who kept me in their world or were pleased to share with me their new arena and dreams, made me feel it was okay to reconnect.   The support felt so great and new opportunities arrived because of it.  I opened up to new people and saw they rolled out a bridge to escape to a more exciting future.

Life takes on more meaning for me with writing, art, reading and love when I connect.  Transfer to the page with my thoughts; join up with the mood of whatever I’m painting or sculpting; to couple up with new and old favorite literature; to join with my fiance for a lifetime.

“I don’t understand how the last card is played
But somehow the vital connection is made”

Read more: Elastica – Connection Lyrics | MetroLyrics

